Nakshatra Puja

  • In Indian astrology there are 27 Nakshatras or stars that have different positions and meaning.
  • Nakshatra are Stars or group of Stars very very far from Earth and they are used as a Milestones to pinpoint the location of any Planet in our Solar System. The entire Zodiac ( 360 degrees ) is divided into 12 Zodiac Signs of 30 degree each. There are 27 Nakshatra each having its distinct Name and Governing Planet. Hence each Zodiac Sign have 2 & 1/4 ( Two and One Fourth ) Nakshatras. Each Nakshatra is further subdivided into 4 Charans known as Nakshatra Pad. Consequently there are total 108 Nakshatra Pad. Therefore there are Nine Nakshatra Pads or Charan in Each Zodiac Sign.
  • During Nakshatra Puja, the God ruling the Nakshatra is worshipped. If you are born under any one of the 7 inauspicious Nakshatra, puja for the particular God who rules the Nakshatra is performed. Here is the list of the Ruling Gods of the seven evil Nakshatra:
    1. Moola
    2. Jayeshtha
    3. Slesha
    4. Ashwini
    5. Megha
    6. Revati
    7. Ardra
    • Propitiating of evil Nakshatras, as per horoscope removes hurdles in our life. This should be done only after advice from a learned astrologer.